Loading

Unfortunately no results were found for your search criteria...

Try again
reload

Unfortunately, we don't have any holiday breaks matching your requirements.

Please try amending your search criteria to find your perfect Darwin Escape!

Amend my search

Did You Know?

Our 3 night breaks start on a FridayOur 4 night breaks start on a Monday
reload

Unfortunately, we don't currently have any holiday homes matching this criteria.

Please try amending your search requirements to explore alternative holiday homes which may be worth taking into consideration.

Amend my search

Did You Know?

If your idea of a dream UK holiday home within your budget isn't currently available, we can help you find it.Simply let us know your requirements by completing this form.

Share this page

Share on social media

Copy link

Print this page

Print

Email your results

Enter your email address below to receive your inspiration results.

Send
Menu Close

Customer Reviews – Cheddar Woods

Read Our Latest Customer Reviews Online…

Cheddar Woods has a history of helping its guests carve holiday memories which last a lifetime.

Take a look through the latest customer reviews and testimonials which have been submitted for our resort online to get an idea of what you will experience when you book a stay or buy a holiday home at our Award Winning 5 star holiday resort.

We value any feedback that we receive from customers, even the criticisms, so that we can continue to refine the offering we provide and remain the place to go for fun family holidays in Cheddar!

Write your own Cheddar Woods review by clicking on the button below:

Write a review

Yes, I would like to opt-in to future communication from Darwin Escapes. We will only contact you by your chosen methods below:

Latest Reviews

Excellent in all aspects, friendly staff, superb lodges, beautiful scenery, great activities and perfect way to spend time with those you love.

Excellent in all aspects, friendly staff, superb lodges, beautiful scenery, great activities and perfect way to spend time with those you love.

5 Darwin Escapes Review 5 stars
Reviewed 2 months ago

We went as a group of 8 spend Friday - Monday in a Glastonbury Premier Lodge, the Lodge itself was spotless and very well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The beds were really comfortable with good quality clean bed linen provided.... read more

We went as a group of 8 spend Friday – Monday in a Glastonbury Premier Lodge, the Lodge itself was spotless and very well equipped with everything we needed for our stay.
The beds were really comfortable with good quality clean bed linen provided. The hot hub was a brilliant addition to the Lodge, however could have been a little Hotter and Quieter.
The site itself was spotless and well maintained, the facilities that the resort offers are excellent. We as a group booked a day of activities and we had a brilliant day , Danny our Activities leader was fantastic, not only very professional but great fun and made the day really enjoyable.
Food in the restaurant was brilliant too, the restaurant manager was really helpful and very friendly .
we had such a fantastic time we have booked again for next year. would highly recommend a stay here.

5 Darwin Escapes Review 5 stars
Reviewed 2 years ago

Just had a fantastic weekend for my daughter's 18th in the Axbridge Premier Lodge, Hot tub was great, Lodge was very clean, tidy, spacious everything you need. Great walks for dogs, Swimming pool and sauna were good and not too busy for January. Will definitely be going back, many thanks

Just had a fantastic weekend for my daughter’s 18th in the Axbridge Premier Lodge, Hot tub was great, Lodge was very clean, tidy, spacious everything you need. Great walks for dogs, Swimming pool and sauna were good and not too busy for January.

Will definitely be going back, many thanks

5 Darwin Escapes Review 5 stars
Reviewed 3 years ago

Having got caught in a 5 hour delay on the M6 and a total of 11 hours travelling our woes were totally forgotten as soon as we entered Cheddar Woods. What an absolutely fantastic park. We've been to other parks in the UK including Centre Parcs but t... read more

Having got caught in a 5 hour delay on the M6 and a total of 11 hours travelling our woes were totally forgotten as soon as we entered Cheddar Woods. What an absolutely fantastic park. We’ve been to other parks in the UK including Centre Parcs but they don’t come close. Our Ashbridge Premier lodge was spacious and spotless with plenty of room for our 3 kids. We looked out onto an open green with the reservoir in the distance and behind us the Mendip Hills. A luxury from our hot tub! Our children enjoyed the Go Active activities and the play area in the bar while my husband and I enjoyed a drink. We will most definitely be staying again as it’s position for exploring the area was fantastic and there is so much we didn’t have time to do. Keep it up Cheddar Woods you are doing a fantastic job.

5 Darwin Escapes Review 5 stars
Reviewed 4 years ago

Stayed over weekend was the best holiday we have had staff were outstanding and we had 2 separate lodges 1 for myself my wife and 2 daughters and another for another daughter and her family, can not praise enough the staff and management.

Stayed over weekend was the best holiday we have had staff were outstanding and we had 2 separate lodges 1 for myself my wife and 2 daughters and another for another daughter and her family, can not praise enough the staff and management.

5 Darwin Escapes Review 5 stars
Reviewed 4 years ago

would have given a 5 but when arrived we booked 3 4 bedroom lodges, how ever they made a mistake and gave the keys out to wrong people so we ended up with just 2 4 bedroom lodges for most of the first day. so was hard to get settled in as a few of... read more

would have given a 5 but when arrived we booked 3 4 bedroom lodges, how ever they made a mistake and gave the keys out to wrong people so we ended up with just 2 4 bedroom lodges for most of the first day. so was hard to get settled in as a few of us had no bedroom yet to unpack. we was told this would be sorted out in 2 hours but it wasn’t. by which time we the group of 19 was going to have dinner in the restaurant which we booked. so we was again told we will get it sorted by the time you finish your meals. we got the whole meal for free to make up for the mistake which was nice. I must say the food was excellent complements to the chefs. After our meal the mix up had been sorted we got a luxury lodge for same price. but i must say all tge lodges were modern and luxurious anyway. also really well kept by the cleaners so complements to the cleaners. overall once settled in had a fab time. cheddar village is just down the road worth a visit plenty to do. theres is also plenty to do in the resort. if you want five stars sort your administration out quickly. because you have a great place. just the administration ruins it

4 Darwin Escapes Review 4 stars
Reviewed 2 months ago

We were staying for a week. The lodge was beautiful, immaculate and had everything you'd need. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. The spa staff were amazing and very caring and professional - especially Hayley - could not fault her. We ... read more

We were staying for a week. The lodge was beautiful, immaculate and had everything you’d need. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. The spa staff were amazing and very caring and professional – especially Hayley – could not fault her.
We ate in the bar part one evening – a special board said “tempura battered Mongolian chicken with stir fried noodles and broccoli etc” – £10.95. After a previous slip up earlier that week with being given incorrect information about an Asian style menu I decided to have that. When it was served it was well presented , but had the appearance of a starter.
Two pieces of battered chicken with the bone sticking out, chilli dip and some garnish. I asked the waiter, and he assured me that this was the Mongolian chicken I had ordered. I asked him to confirm, as we had paid £10.95 for it and that was extortionate for a starter when all of their other starters were no more than £5. I was told this was what I ordered and yes that was the price for a starter.
Whilst sitting there in disbelief the waiter then came back shortly and apologised, and said that it was what I ordered but that he would get it as a main meal but there would be a wait. I asked what to do with the starter I had, and he said I could have it.
So I started to eat my “free starter”, only to see that it was totally raw chicken inside. Not even undercooked – it was raw.
So again I told the waiter, he could see it was raw and apologised and took it away.
They then bought out my stir fry with Mongolian chicken, which was a little dry but nice enough.
We weren’t offered anything in return, for our experience, and as you pay when you order there is no option of refusing to pay for the messed up dishes.
We then ordered two more drinks after our meal, and one of which was complimentary. But had we not of asked for these, we wouldnt have been given anything.
One waiter Mark was very sympathetic , but apart from him, I was very disappointed in the staff, attitudes, and communication between the chef, menu and waiting staff. I will return to cheddar woods, however I agree with others that the restaurant and bar staff need so much work to be at the standard of such a lovely park.

3 Darwin Escapes Review 3 stars
Reviewed 2 months ago

We have stayed at this park previously and it was brilliant. Unfortunately on this visit our experience was very different. The park was still tidy and clean and the lodge itself was lovely. The staff however were extremely disorganised and had ... read more

We have stayed at this park previously and it was brilliant. Unfortunately on this visit our experience was very different. The park was still tidy and clean and the lodge itself was lovely.

The staff however were extremely disorganised and had the worst customer service skills I have ever experienced. The Go active team on site were rarely there to try and book clubs and when they were most clubs were fully booked because they didn’t have enough spaces for the children staying here.

There seems to have been a high turnover in staff and there is a young girl on reception who is so rude. I have got no idea why a nice resort like this would have someone like her at the front of house. Also the bar staff seem to have had it drummed in to them to keep things tidy over serving customers. Myself and another gentleman watched a bar man clean a shelf for over 15 minutes while we were both waiting to be served, he only stopped to serve us when I asked him if there was any chance of getting a drink. . It’s just dreadful.

It is such a shame that we have experienced this and I hope someone will read this and realise their staff need a serious amount of customer service training.

After this visit we will not be returning.

2 Darwin Escapes Review 2 stars
Reviewed 2 months ago

This is out 5th time at Cheddar but it is the second time we have been let down once again lodge was not clean enough .We had to wait 40 minutes before to get in as cleaners had not aarived and then cooker had not been cleaned the glass was covered ... read more

This is out 5th time at Cheddar but it is the second time we have been let down once again lodge was not clean enough .We had to wait 40 minutes before to get in as cleaners had not aarived and then cooker had not been cleaned the glass was covered in grease ,there were bulbs missing ,a dirty tissue under bedside cupboard so not been hoovered!I resent paying £40for a dog when they cannot be bothered to clean it ready for us.the shower room was damp and it looked as if it had a lot of water on floor quite black we love it here but having had a dirty place twice I don’t think we will be back and certainly won’t be recommending to people like in the past .from a dissatisfied couple who have been let down twice.

1 Darwin Escapes Review 1 stars
Reviewed 2 months ago

Not a good experience. This is our 2nd visit to a Darwin Escapes park in 2016, so we know what to expect, but no coffee in the bar, a malfunctioning swimming pool(?!?), and woeful food offerings will almost certainly make this our last visit to a Da... read more

Not a good experience. This is our 2nd visit to a Darwin Escapes park in 2016, so we know what to expect, but no coffee in the bar, a malfunctioning swimming pool(?!?), and woeful food offerings will almost certainly make this our last visit to a Darwin park.

Only offering Sunday roasts on Sunday lunchtime might seem like good business sense, but I’d suggest an empty restaurant tells a different story.

Not well run, dirty and faulty lodges, insufficient facilities for the number of lodges on the park (a Darwin trait apparently), yet still happy to charge a premium. Very disappointing.

1 Darwin Escapes Review 1 stars
Reviewed 2 months ago

#3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Cheddar

Based on 1305 reviews on TripAdvisor

Darwin Escapes Trip Advisor Rating TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
Darwin Escapes Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2018 Certificate of Excellence 2018

View more TripAdvisor® Traveler Reviews

"Fantastic family friendly place "

Darwin Escapes Trip Advisor Rating
Reviewed 0 day ago 710kateyb

Just back from a 2 night break with my two daughters, a friend and her son. Kids are 5,4 and 2. The park is beautifully kept, loads to do for the kids without being overwhelming. Our lodge was lovely...

View more TripAdvisor® Traveler Reviews

"Home from home"

Darwin Escapes Trip Advisor Rating
Reviewed 14 days ago holidayqueenExeter

This is the second time we have visited Cheddar Woods and again we weren’t disappointed. We had a four bedroom lodge with hot tub and it came with everything you need for a great stay. The only...

Print